Madeline Brenner

My artwork is a subtle plea to the people, an urge to reintegrate ourselves with our surroundings. Be it man made or of natural occurrence, the human body and its environment coexist in the same time and space. There are moments in this coexistence where the lines between the two forms (body and nature) merge. One becomes the other.

My photographic and video work examines this connection. Exploring the link between the innate functions that the body and nature share (such as breath, growth, fluidity, etc.) allow me to realize that human beings are but a fragment of the surrounding natural world. This unification is personified through imagery of sexuality and femininity.

While the final presentation or medium of my work is often unknown to me, I enjoy the unfolding of knowledge as I attempt to understand the sublime qualities in nature, and figure out where I belong in its realm. Ultimately, I feel a stronger sense of connectedness through my work.

I am currently a student at Webster University, graduating in May 2012 with a BA in art, certificate in art therapy, and minors in psychology and spanish. I am currently in the process of application to dual MA programs for Art Therapy/Counseling.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For pricing and/or other inquiries, please contact:
http://www.madelinebrenner.wordpress.com
mbrenner51@webster.edu
madelenebren@yahoo.com

About samdavisstudios

Interested
This entry was posted in 365 St. Louis Artisians of 2012 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

