Brandon Barnes

My current work is an evolution of an idea I had several years ago where I began making drawings and sculptures that were mechanical and architectural in nature.  I would start them without a final design in mind and let them “grow” organically into increasingly complex designs.  My current iteration of this idea is significantly more architectural in execution than previous explorations of this idea, which tended to be more biological/mechanical in nature.  I draw my inspiration from numerous sources such as city layouts, blueprints, artificial limbs, and neurology.

My method of creating these ideas is in the form of sculpture and drawing, often combined together.  I try and merge these two forms of art making by creating drawings of fantastical machines and buildings, and then adding wire frame sculptures that echo the linear drawings they are paired with.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For more information go to: www.brandonbarnesart.com

About samdavisstudios

Interested
This entry was posted in 365 St. Louis Artisians of 2012 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

