Brandace Cloud

I graduated from Webster University with my bachelor’s degree in studio art, where I focused mainly on photography and ceramics. Previously, I graduated Lewis and Clark Community College with my associate’s in graphic design. Since graduating Webster in May of 2011, I have been sustaining myself by working as a ceramicist, photographer, graphic designer, and teacher.

My favorite medium is the indigenous clay I dig up myself from a graveyard near my home. From its excavation to its transformation into a finished product, the clay is only altered by my hand, a bit of glaze, and its firing in the kiln. Digging, shaping, and firing the clay becomes a ritual that connects me with the earth, allowing me to shape my world.

When I am away from my home studio, I prefer to take photos with a Holga camera that I always keep with me. The images created with the Holga cannot be controlled fully by the user. With the Holga, I give up control of the finished product, because the exposure is never quite what I expect. Photography with the Holga becomes a meditation on letting go of my expectations, and giving up control of my vision to the medium itself.

I am first and foremost an artist, but I also work as a freelance graphic designer and a teacher. I have created all of the images used at E-52ʻs restaurant in Litchfield, IL, including their menu, their logo, and much of their advertising. I also teach courses on wheel throwing and childrenʼs art for the Edwardsville Arts Center, and started teaching digital photography at Lewis and Clark Community College in the Spring of 2012.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For more information you may go to:

www.brandacecloud.com
www.etsy.com/people/brandace
https://www.facebook.com/BrandaceCloudStudios

 

About samdavisstudios

Interested
This entry was posted in 365 St. Louis Artisians of 2012 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

